Emery County, Utah is a beautiful area.

Emery County

A beautiful area that everyone should explore.

Emery County, Utah is a beautiful area in the state's southeastern section. Carbon County borders it to the north, Wayne County to the south, Grand and San Juan Counties to the east, and Sevier County to the west. The county seat of Emery County is Castle Dale.

The terrain of Emery County is made up of deep canyons, stunning red-rock cliffs, and vast stretches of desert. The San Rafael Swell, a large geological feature within the county, presents some of the most breathtaking scenery in southern Utah. Some of Emery County's major attractions include Goblin Valley State Park and San Rafael Reef.

The population of Emery County is about 9,819 people as of 2020, making it the fourth-least populous county in Utah. The largest city in Emery County is Price, with an estimated population of 8,188. Other cities include Castle Dale (population 2,383), Ferron (population 1,019), Green River (population 902), and Orangeville (population 547).


Discover the breathtaking landscape of Emery County in southeastern Utah. This vibrant county is surrounded by stunning natural boundaries, including the Wasatch Plateau and the majestic Green River. Emery County is made up of three distinct geographical areas: the awe-inspiring mountains of the Wasatch Plateau, Castle Valley with its thriving settlements, and the rugged beauty of the San Rafael Swell and Cedar Mountain.

The heart and soul of Emery County lies in the San Rafael River, which originates in the pristine waters of the Wasatch Plateau. This vital river nourishes the agricultural and industrial needs of the county, providing essential resources for its communities. Flowing through Castle Valley, the San Rafael River unites the branches of Huntington Creek, Cottonwood Creek, and Ferron Creek before meandering through stunning rock formations and desert landscapes until it joins the mighty Green River.

The settlement of Emery County began in the late 1800s when livestock growers from neighboring Sanpete County recognized the untapped potential of Castle Valley. Eager to secure unoccupied land before others, young families embarked on a journey to establish homesteads in the region. Today, the vibrant communities of Huntington, Ferron, Castle Dale, and Orangeville stand as a testament to their pioneering spirit and love for the land.


Emery County is situated in southeastern Utah and is bordered by Carbon, Grand, San Juan, Duchesne, Uintah, and Sevier Counties. The terrain of Emery County ranges from deep canyons to vast stretches of desert. It is part of the Colorado Plateau and includes the Wasatch Plateau, the San Rafael Swell, and Cedar Mountain.

The San Rafael River is the major waterway of Emery County and begins in the Wasatch Plateau before meandering through spectacular rock formations and desert landscapes until it joins the Green River. Huntington Creek, Cottonwood Creek, and Ferron Creek are some of its tributaries.

Most of Emery County is included within the boundaries of two national parks: Goblin Valley State Park and San Rafael Reef. These protected areas offer recreational opportunities such as hiking, camping, fishing, boating, and wildlife viewing.

Places of Interest

Goblin Valley State Park

Goblin Valley State Park is a scenic destination located in Emery County. Featuring some of the most unique rock formations on earth, this park is a great spot for outdoor adventures like hiking and camping. The landscape here includes colorful sandstone amphitheaters, bizarre hoodoos, and sweeping vistas of the desert.

San Rafael Swell

The San Rafael Swell is a large geological feature in Emery County. It includes stunning rock formations, eroded canyons, and majestic mesas. The area has numerous trails for hiking, biking, and off-road vehicle use.

Planning a trip to Emery County

When planning a trip to Emery County, visitors will find no shortage of things to do. From Goblin Valley State Park and the San Rafael Swell to stunning red-rock cliffs and deep canyons, there's plenty of beauty here to explore. Whether you're looking for a scenic drive or an outdoor adventure, Emery County has something for everyone.
hotel icon


Emery County has several lodging options for visitors, including motels, bed & breakfasts, and campgrounds. The towns of Price, Castle Dale, Ferron, and Green River all offer accommodations. Visitors can find a variety of lodging options in the surrounding areas.


Emery County is known for its delicious eateries, ranging from classic American fare to down-home cooking. In Price, visitors can find a variety of dining options such as Mexican restaurants, steakhouse eateries, and mom & pop diners. Castle Dale is home to several unique cafes and bistros that serve up local flavors.


Emery County experiences four distinct seasons throughout the year. Summers can be hot and dry, while winters are usually cold with occasional snowfall. Springtime brings colorful wildflowers and warm temperatures, while fall offers milder days and chilly nights.
Beaver County
County Seat: Beaver, UT
Box Elder County
County Seat: Brigham City, UT
Cache County
County Seat: Logan, UT
Carbon County
County Seat: Price, UT
Daggett County
County Seat: Manilla, UT
Davis County,
County Seat: Farmington, UT
Duchesne County
County Seat: Duchesne, UT
Emery County
County Seat: Castle Dale, UT
Garfield County
County Seat: Panguitch, UT
Grand County
County Seat: Moab, UT
Iron County
County Seat: Parowan, UT
Juab County
County Seat: Nephi, UT
Kane County
County Seat: Kanab, UT
Millard County
County Seat: Fillmore, UT
Morgan County
County Seat: Morgan, UT
Piute County
County Seat: Junction, UT
Rich County
County Seat: Randolph, UT
Salt Lake County
County Seat: Salt Lake City, UT
San Juan County
County Seat: Monticello, UT
Sanpete County
County Seat: Manti, UT
Sevier County
County Seat: Richfield, UT
Summit County
County Seat: Coalville, UT
Tooele County
County Seat: Tooele, UT
Uintah County
County Seat: Vernal, UT
Utah County
County Seat: Provo, UT
Wasatch County
County Seat: Heber City, UT
Washington County
County Seat: St. George, UT
Wayne County
County Seat: Loa, UT
Weber County
County Seat: Ogden, UT