The park was named after William Hyrum Smith, the brother of Joseph Smith (founder of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints). In the winter of 1825-26, General William H. Ashley stopped near what is now Hyrum Reservoir and stored away $150,000 worth of furs. Since then, the area has undergone several changes and improvements including the addition of a campground and numerous trails for visitors to explore. In 1939, the United States Bureau of Reclamation completed the Hyrum Reservoir. Before the dam and reservoir were completed, Mormon settlers dug a nine-mile canal that started in the Little Bear River and was used for farming irrigation in Hyrum, Utah.
The state park was established in 1959 by the state of Utah and is now owned and managed by Utah State Parks. Hyrum State Park in Hyrum, Utah is home to 264 acres of land and is a popular destination for visitors throughout the year. With its majestic mountain views and serene atmosphere, it's easy to see why people come from all around to experience this amazing park.
The park is home to many forms of wildlife including mule deer, moose, coyotes, bobcats and elk. There are also many species of birds that come to visit the park including ducks, geese and several types of songbirds. Anglers can try their luck at fishing for trout in the reservoir or in nearby streams.